Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Debugging with SugarCube and Twine 1 .... argh! :)

Hi,

I admit - right from the beginning, so to say, that I am not a HTML coder. So in any programming language that I am familiar with I was forced to use < or > only rarely - mostly in comparisons, sometimes when setting up pipe redirects.

So in Twine and Sugarcube (it's different in Harlowe, I know) I get flooded with the excessive use of << and >> and, of course, also < and > - especially in HTML "in between" statements.

The worst, though, is that the "editor" that comes with Twine (1 or 2) is ... somewhat lacking ... whoever came up with the colour coding of a properly working <<>> set and a not working <<>> set should be ashamed. Both are shown in bold and - at least on my monitor - the colour difference is minimal.

Try <<set<<print <<M<yWidget>>>>

Yes, the right ones are blue but honestly, when I glance at the screen (scrolling for error spotting) the difference is so small that I don't really notice it.

My next big problem is the way conditional clauses are handled. I have some complex logic at work and if you have a 7 level if elseif else endif construct and have 3 - 6 new if elseif else endif conitions nested in any of those ... it's ok when you start out because I usually do the empty construct right from the beginning and then fill in the content. But once in a while you may find you have to add/change/delete something and then it is ... er, where was that passage again? ...

In a "normal" programming language you have 2 things that help you. (a) You have a "matching brace" function that will show you which { or } belongs where and you usually have a expand/collapse function for if, for and similar constructions that will allow you to quickly find the level you are looking for.