Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Creating margins with sugarcube 2

Hey

So I'm new at this and I think I've only just decided to go with Twine 1 and Sugarcube 2 (although I'm still not confident that's the right choice).

What I want to be able to do is create a second UI on the right, that I can use to display character stats and images.

I did find this...

http://twinery.org/forum/discussion/4922/sugarcube-2-can-anyone-explain-to-me-how-to-do-margins-properly#latest

...but it's for T2 and I'm not sure it will work on T1. Worse, I'm not entirely sure how to use that info bar opening the link at the bottom, pressing f12 to bring up the code and copying each bit into a stylesheet under 'body'.

If anybody can help I'd be v appreciative!

Comments

• The good thing about the SugarCube story format (both 1.x and 2.x) is that it works almost exactly the same no matter which release of Twine you are using.

note: The Special Names page of the relevant SugarCube documentation includes information about the main exceptions which is a couple of Special Passages and Tags that are not needed/used in Twine 2.

In Twine 1 you place CSS in a stylesheet tagged passage (the Story > New > Stylesheet menu) and Javascript goes in a script tagged passage (the Story > New > Script menu)

In Twine 2 you place CSS in the Story Stylesheet area and Javascript goes in the Story Javascript area, both accessed via the menu in the bottom left corner.
  • Hey Greyelf, thanks for your swift response.

I wanted to respond asap but thought I’d work on getting something worth replying with first and I’m still not sure how to answer whether or not your answer has answered my question so I’ve not clicked that yet either.

Sorry to tell you, I’m not sure I’m winning.

I think I got the Javascript bit down at least thanks to Twine automatically removing everything else for me.