Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to create consumables in an rpg twine 2.0 harlowe game

Basically it's as the title says I want to create ...., I can easily create a health potion that can be used in-battle but it gets more complex with an attack potion, xp potion or coin bonus as they should have a timer and I don't how to implement one correctly say I want it 10 secs (btw I have already created a simple inventory system so don't worry about that here's a guide if you don't know how) try to keep it simple because I'm relatively new to twine and coding

Comments

• You could use the live macro. For example, if you wanted a temporary attack bonus for ten seconds you could do this:
    (link: "Use Attack Bonus Potion")[(set: $attackMultiplier to 2)
    (live: 10s)[(set: $attackMultiplier to 1)]]

And then the code for the multiplier (if the opponent's health was a variable named $opponent and you dealt ten damage):
    (set: $opponent to $opponent - (10 * $multiplier))

So if someone presses the link to use the potion, it activates a multiplier, which increases the damage you deal to enemies. But in ten seconds, the multiplier goes back to one, so ten times one is still just ten. Tell me if you don't understand or anything.
  • Note that the code within a (live:) macro's associated hook will be executed repeatedly until either the Reader navigates to another passage or a related (stop:) macro is executed.

If you want the contents of the associated hook to only occur a limited number of times then you need to use a (stop:) macro.

a. Occur only once:
    (live: 10s)[
    	(set: $attackMultiplier to 1)
    	(stop:)
    ]

b. Occur a limited number of times (eg twice):
    (set: $counter to 0)
    	(set: $counter to it + 1)
    	(set: $var to it + 1)
    	(if: $counter is 2)[
    	]
    ]

• greyelf wrote: »