Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Different Passages depending on how long you take to answer (using a timer)... Is this possible?

Hi, I'm new to twine and have very little knowledge of programming... ha. Sooo, onwards. Um, I've been playing around with this macro - https://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5108. It's the <<timedgoto>> stuff. My question is - Is there anyway, in this, or in another macro that anyone knows of, that I can create something whereby, the player is given 10 seconds to act and depending on how long they take to answer, is taken to a different passage? Say 0-3 seconds you go to passage 1, 3-6 seconds you go to passage 2, 6-10 seconds you go to passage 3? Anything like that? Thanks and fingers crossed!

Comments

• edited May 2015
    You need the replace macro set instead and write something like this if using SugarCube using its click macro:
    <<click "Click here to advance">><<if $choice is 0>><<goto "Passage 1">><<elseif $choice is 1>><<goto "Passage 2">><<elseif $choice is 2>><<goto "Passage 3">><<elseif $choice is 3>><<goto "Passage 4">><</if>><</click>>

<<silently>>
    <<set $choice to 0>>
    <<timedcontinue 3s>>
    <<set $choice to 1>>
    <<timedcontinue 3s>>
    <<set $choice to 2>>
    <<timedcontinue 3s>>
    <<set $choice to 3>>
    <</silently>>

You can't use a normal passage link like <<if $choice is 1>>Passage 2<</if>> because the game measures values for displaying the if statements on passage load, so you need something like a click macro that measures what variable you have on the click.

Alternatively you could also ways do something like forward the player to a transitional passage containing a <<goto>> macro that redirects the player instantly based on what variable they have now.

E.g. instead of that click macro write:
    [[Click here to advance|transitional passage]]

And in transitional passage write: