Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does Twine 1.4x support CSS blend-mode?

Hi folks! I searched the wiki and the forums for "blend-mode" and came up dry. If I'm missing something obvious, please let me know. I'm only a hobbyist-level CSS user and brand new to Twine, so it is extremely likely that my code is just bad and someone will be able to straighten me out quickly.

So CSS has a range of image-transforming functions called blend-modes. They affect images with the same kind of blend-modes you can use in Photoshop, eg, Multiply, Darken, Screen, etc. In my twine story, which is a sort of tarot deck tool, I want to use Multiply to overlap two black and white graphics:

tumblr_nomqnr7whY1tnsksko1_540.png
card 1

tumblr_nsvyhmuBHI1tnsksko1_540.png
card 2

...to create a composite graphic:

CqjxWwi.png

On a "shuffle" passage, $card1, $card2 and $card3 variables are set randomly. These variables are then used for the rest of the story unless the player re-shuffles. Ideally, I want to dynamically create something like the composite above, using Multiply blend-modes and negative margins (or z positioning or any of the other ways to get images to overlap), but with variables. But my (possibly completely useless) code isn't working. The negative margins are successfully overlapping the images:

QDPqxcm.png

But without Multiply allowing them to blend with each other. The following is very messy but I've been hitting my head on it all night with no joy:

In the passage itself:
<div class="bg-blend">
<span class="bindglyph">[img[$card1]]</span>
<span class="bindglyph">[img[$card2]]</span>
<span class="bindglyph">[img[$card3]]</span>
  </div>

CSS:
span.bindglyph > img {
	width: 500px;
	margin-bottom: -20px;
	blend-mode: multiply;
}

.bg-blend {
	background-image: $card1,$card2;
	background-blend-mode: multiply;
	background-color: white;
}