Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Trying to get a conditional link

Hi, I'm trying to get it so a link will only show up if a certain passage has been comlpete.

I've looked all over and only find stuff from 1.4 which is frustrating cause to me its changed a bit since then, i'm using snowman because i want more customization for my story. Currently got background buttons and stuff sorted but i cannot get a link that is only there if a certain passage has been hit.

To clarify a bit more

I'm trying to get passage 3 to display a link only if passage 2 is selected.

Start

Passage 1 Passage 2

Passage3

Thanks if anyone understands, i'm kind of new to HTML scripting, getting good so far though.

Comments

• The basic conditional is easy enough:
    <% if (/* passage 2 has been viewed */) { %>[[some link]]<% } %>

The "passage 2 has been viewed" is the sticky bit. You could do it in one of two ways, use a state variable or check the story history. The former is easy, the latter is a bit more difficult because I don't believe that Snowman includes a built-in method for checking if a passage has been visited before (i.e. it's in the history).

Using a variable:
    You'd simply add something like the following to Passage 2:
    <% s.visitedPassage2 = true; %>

And then in Passage 3:
    <% if (s.visitedPassage2) { %>[[some link]]<% } %>

Checking the state history:
    First. Put the following code in your Story JavaScript:
    /*
    	Returns whether the Passage object corresponding to either the
    	ID or name exists within the story history.
    */
    _.extend(Story.prototype, {
    	hasVisited : function (idOrName) {
    		var id;
    		if (_.isNumber(idOrName)) {
    			id = idOrName;
    		} else if (_.isString(idOrName)) {
    			try {
    				id = _.findWhere(this.passages, { name : idOrName }).id;
    			} catch (e) { /* no-op */ }
    		}