Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HELP PLEASE! :) New to Twine - Variables

Hello!

I am new to twine and not very familiar with programming at all. I am making a game for a class assignment and would love some assistance and/or advice.

I'm designing a game about drug addiction recovery with 4 variables (sobriety level, addiction status, methadone usage, and therapy status). Each variable has 3 possible values. Here are my questions about setting up these variables:

1. Should I set the variables to have numerical values of 1, 2, and 3, or can they operate on a gradient, such as 1-10, so that as the player moves through the game they gain or lose "points" that move them towards a particular value dependent on the choices they make?

2. How exactly do I program choices to effect variable value? For example, if the player chooses to go to therapy the variable of therapy status should shift to "in therapy." Where do you let twine know I want that to occur?

I'm sorry if I am not explaining things well or using inaccurate vocabulary; like I said, I am new to twine. If you have questions about my questions or my game, please express yourself!

Comments

• edited December 2015
    Hi.

*** Made some edits cause I thought of more stuff.
    Unfortunately, Twine 2 seems to use 3 or so different languages. So unless people know what you are writing in they may or may not be able to help. The answers I provided are for the Harlowe format.

1. You can use the variables on a gradient if you wish, but it will be a bit trickier.

If want a gradient, it might be that you have something like drinking builds DrunkPoints.
    You could then do something like
    (set: $SobrietyLevel = "(if: $DrunkPoints < 3)[Sober](if: $DrunkPoints >3)[Buzzed](if: $DrunkPoints >7)[Drunk])"