Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

"Don't Move"

Hello, Twine Community!

I am a relatively new Twine writer, and I'm currently working on a big project. I wish to adapt the video game Until Dawn into a text game personalized using my friends and I as the main characters.

One major gameplay factor of the game is the "Don't Move" component, in which you must hold your controller completely still. Your ability to remain still will affect the story and could make a huge difference.

I am wondering how I could make something like this in a textual format. Making choices "Move" and "Don't move" seem too simple and obvious, so is there a more complex way to implement this into Twine?

Comments

• edited September 2016
    I bet you could conceivably do something with Javascript (holding the mouse still within a moving circle?) but, as another relatively new Twine writer with no Javascript experience, I have no idea how you'd implement this.

Instead, a less complex idea: I'm pretty sure that all versions of Twine have a way to time things. You could inject a certain amount of "move / don't move" interactivity into some decisions by adding a timer-- say, you have to wait until a monster passes the place you're hiding, and clicking to move out of hiding before then gets you caught. You could also do the reverse: something's chasing you, and you have to make your navigational decisions on a time limit before it catches up.
  • I will look into both options! Thank you very much!
  • TimCat329 wrote: »
    I will look into both options! Thank you very much!

I've been doing twine for ages, though I've never done any javascript. However, I could help you with a timer. You wanna use a (live:) macro. If you give me an example of something you want done I could write out some code for ya.