Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Change font of all passages based on player decision?

Hi! I am using 1.4.2 and Sugarcube 2.10.0, and I am a total newbie to Twine. I am writing a story in which one of the choices the player can make corrupts him gradually, distorting his perceptions. I would like to signal to the player that this is happening by changing the font of the passages encountered, so that the text of the game gets progressively harder to read as the corruption gets worse. I have a beautiful pack of Halloween fonts that will do nicely for this. Anyway, I've thought of one way to do this which seems to work, which is to wrap each passage like so:
<<if $corrupt is 1>> <span style='font-family:BloodyBlessing'>This is totes text. Observe its text-ness.

Yes
No
</span> <</if>>

...but that seems sort of sloppy. What I am hoping is that there is some other, better way to do this. My theory about one possible better way to do this would be if I could apply new tags to all story passages based on a variable (like, if corrupt = 1, give all passages new tag "corruptOne

Comments

• My first reaction to this is you'd probably want to add global CSS rules to do this instead of having to apply styles or tags to each individual passage. I don't believe there's a way to do this in SugarCube without writing JavaScript (TME might know a trick to do it), but one way to do it would be to add something like this in your stylesheet:
    body.corrupted { font-family: BloodyBlessing };

And then, when you want to change the appearance, write this code in your passage:
    <<set $('body').addClass('corrupted')>>

This is uses jQuery to apply the style.
  • edited October 2016
    AthertonMe wrote: »