Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do I make the variables in checkboxes show up?

This is my first time using twine and I'm having trouble implementing variables via the checkboxes. I'm trying to have the player choose who they want to hang out with and how many people, but when I went to test it out nothing on the second passage shows up.

In my first passage I have:
Who do you want to hang out with?

<<checkbox $hangout "Hailey">>
<<checkbox $hangout "Jake">>
<<checkbox $hangout "Finn">> 
<<checkbox $hangout "Blake">>

<<button [[Continue|Continue]]>>

and in my second passage I have:
<<if ($hangout is "Hailey") and ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is"Blake") and ($hangout is "Finn")>> You hangout with Blake, Hailey, Jake and Finn at the [[mall|mall1]].<<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Blake") and ($hangout is "Hailey") and ($hangout is "Jimmy")>> You hangout with Blake, Hailey, and Finn at the [[mall|mall2]].
<<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Blake") and ($hangout is "Hailey") and ($hangout is "Jake")>> You hangout with Blake, Hailey, and Jake at the [[mall|mall3]]. <<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is "Finn") and ($hangout is "Emma")>> You hangout with Jake, Finn, and Hailey at the [[mall|mall4]].<<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is "Finn") and ($hangout is "Blake")>> You hangout with Jake, Finn, and Blake at the [[mall|mall5]].<<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is "Finn")>> You hang out with Jake and Finn at the [[mall|mall6]].  <<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is "Hailey")>> You hang out with Jake and Hailey at the [[mall|mall7]].  <<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Jake") and ($hangout is "Blake")>> You hang out with Jake and Blake at the [[mall|mall8]].<<endif>>

<<if ($hangout is "Finn") and ($hangout is "Hailey")>> You hang out with Finn and Hailey at the [[mall|mall9]]. <<endif>>