Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Twine 2 - Harlowe] Can I print a number to 2 decimal places?

Hi all,

I am just starting out using Twine 2 (using story format Harlowe 2.0) and still getting hang of a few things. I will apologise immediately if I use the wrong terminology when referring to things. (Still learning).

I have generally been able to find answers to issues, however, I cannot seem to find if I can print the result of a variable to 2 decimal places, such as printing 13.25 instead of a whole number. The only methods that I can see in the wiki only show how to do a whole. Is there an option to 2 decimals?

Any guidance would be great :)

Comments

• I cannot test this at the moment, however, something like the following should work—though Harlowe does surprise me on occasion:
    (print: $numberVariable.toFixed(2))

NOTE: The variable or expression you're attempting to use with the toFixed() method must be an actual number value, a string containing numerals is not the same thing.
  • Thank you :)
    I have been using the string containing numerals, as this is what I found was used and taught in tutorials. But I guess they had been using whole numbers and I went with numbers with decimals, which doesn't seem to be as friendly.
    I will have to look at how to use number values next.
  • I don't know what tutorials you're referring to, however, numeric strings should never be used in place of actual numbers if they're what you actually need.

An easy rule of thumb is if you ever plan on doing math with a value, then it should be a number. If no math will ever happen with a value, then using a numeric string is probably okay.
  • Thanks :) I do understand what you mean. At the moment I don't know how to set numbers properly.

Currently I am seeing in tutorials (just random tutes on peoples blogs and on youtube) that show the following expressions: (this is just an example)

Passage 1