Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Statement with "(If: $value1 is false OR $value2 is false)"

Hello everyone !

I'm completely new to Twine. I tried a first simple story, but then of course I wanted to complicate it a bit, and that's when everything went wrong :)

Here's my problem : I created a story with 3 rooms to look into. The player has to go into the 3 rooms or into 2 specific one of them to continue with the journey. Let's call the rooms $room1, $room2 and $room3.

So basically :
- The player goes to $room1 and $room2 (or $room2 and $room1) then $room3 --> He follows the journey
- Or he can go to $room3 first, then $room1 and $room2 (or $room2 and $room1) and at this point he is forced to go back to $room3 again to continue (a text "come back to $room3" appears when this is the path chosen).

What I want Twine to understand is this :
If the player went to $room1 <b>OR</b> $room2 when he gets to $room3, then a specific text appears <b>AND</b> he can visit room1 if that's the room he didn't go into, <b>OR</b> room2 if that's the other one.

I thought this could work :
(if: $room1 is false or $room2 is false)[Specific text]
(if: $room1 is false)[ Go to room1 ]
(elseif : $room2 is false)[ Go to room2 ]

But it doesn't work... I'm wondering if this can be linked to the fact that there is a lot of different conditions according to the path the player chooses ?

Cause there are 3 possible ways :
(If: $room1 is true <b>OR</b> $room2 is false)[specific text 1]
(If: $room1 is true <b>AND</b> $room2 is true) [specific text 1 + <b>New path</b> ]
(if : $room1 is true AND $room2 is true <b>AND</b> $room3 is true] [specific text 2 + New path ]

I'm sorry if I don't explain very well ! I'd really, REALLY appreciate if you could give me your ideas about how to make it work ! Thanks a lot !!! :D

Comments

• Please use the code tag when posting examples - it's the C on the editor bar.