Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Remove Sidebar for certain tagged passages

So I've been wondering if it's possible to remove the sidebar for the few first passages, and then automatically make it appear as the player moves on. Something like, during the first few passages (choosing character and such) the sidebar isn't there, and then once the story itself begins, the sidebar is there with all the information I want.

Is this a thing? Can it happen?
keep in mind I'm really new at this, please... thanks

Oh, an I'm using twine 2 with Sugarcube 2.18

Comments

• It depend on what you mean by "remove the sidebar":

1. Stow the side-bar.

You can use the UIBar.stow() function found in the UIBar API to stow/hide the side-bar when your story starts, this is done by placing code like the following within your story's Story Javascript area.
    UIBar.stow();

... you can later use code like the following within a passage to unstow the side-bar.
    <<script>>UIBar.unstow()<</script>>

or

<<run UIBar.unstow()>>

2. Totally hide the side-bar including the stow-bar.

This is a little harder because you need to:

a. Have some way to indicate when to hide the side bar, which you can do by marking each passage you want it hidden for with the same Passage Tag. The tag name you use is not important, this example will use no-side-bar

b. hide the side-bar and then move the story area over slightly to the left, both of which can be done using CSS withing your story's Story Stylesheet area.

The following CSS uses selectors based on the no-side-bar passage tag, if you use a different passage tag name then you will need to modify the selectors likewise.
    body[data-tags~="no-side-bar"] #ui-bar {
    	display: none;
    	left: -15.5em;
    }

body[data-tags~="no-side-bar"] #ui-bar~#story {
        margin-left: 4.5em;
    }