Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Styling Lists

In an effort to reduce white space, I'm trying to stye lists. I've managed to get rid of all the white space around lists except from above. I'm a total newbie at CSS, HTML, and Twine all three, so I'm surprised I even got this far. 

Here's what I have:
ul {margin:0px; }
Or;
ul { padding:0px; margin-top:0px; margin-bottom:0px; margin-right:0px; margin-left:0px; }
I don't think the padding property did anything, but I left it. I just had "margin:0px", but I wanted to be more specific since the desired result wasn't achieved. The results are identical.

There seems to remain a single line of white space above the lest.

Any advice or suggestions?

Thanks!

Comments

• I too am newbyish at all the things you mentioned, but I recommend you open your generated game in a browser, open Firefox's built-in Inspector (or its equivalent in other browsers), and then move the mouse cursor over that white space above your list, to see which portion of code that white space actually belongs to (Inspector will show you). Sometimes its surprising what you see. :P
  • Well, I am surprised, but that's not hard to accomplish for a newbie like me.
    Text here.
    * Stuff.
    * Stuff.
    * Stuff.
    More text.
    Between "Text here" and the list were two <br>'s.  :o ???

It really doesn't bother me. I just don't know why the second one is there. I guess lists always add one <br>? I mean, that's fine if they do.
  • I was having the exact same issue. I gave up, because it was taking too much time and I wanted to focus on the dang story. But before I gave up, I found a macro (on the Trainwrecks site?) that let you put a "\" in your code to get rid of one Twine-generated line break. I think I was able to get rid of one but not two sequential line breaks that way. Now Twine 1.4 has that functionality built in. I don't know if you would have better luck than me.