Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Link Colors in 1.4

Greetings!

I am a complete newbie when it comes to both Twine and CSS. So, the answer to this question is no doubt a simple one.

My link colors are lime in 1.3.X, but in 1.4, they are the standard blue color. This is to be expected as L explained:

L wrote:

The CSS rule for styling links in all story formats was changed from "a.internalLink,a.externalLink" to ".passage a". This was done for one major reason: a vast number of people were using HTML links "<a href="http://www.example.org">"; instead of proper external links "[[link text|http://www.example.org]]"; and the former links were appearing as unstyled dark-blue-on-black links in Sugarcane. To mitigate this problem, I changed the rule to guarantee that even people unaware of the external link syntax would receive properly styled links. (It also has the intended side-effect of making other links created by macros (such as <<choice>> or <<return>>) not require the author to supply extra rules to re-style them.)

But, ".passage a" should have identical specificity to both "a.internalLink" and your own "a:link", so if you're having a problem with that, hmm, that might indeed indicate a problem of some sort.

Unfortunately, that's Greek to me.

What do I need to type to make all my links lime green?

Here's what I have:
.passage { font: normal 14pt Lucida Console, monospace; width: 600px; color:#00FF00; !important }

a:link {color:#00FF00 !important; text-decoration:underline;}
a:visited {color:#00FF00 !important;}
a:hover {color:#008000 !important;}
a:active {color:#008000 !important;}
Never mind the visited code.

I tried a number of things in the .passage but failed to make the links green. XD

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• OH! I just figured out why "a:link" no longer works as a CSS selector. OK, hmm.