Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Harlowe: Choices, Font, and Loops

Hi, I'm new to Twine, enjoying using Twine 2 Harlowe online. I'm pushing myself on a game jam so I've been a little frustrated at trying to learn Harlowe on the fly because the documentation is new and still being created.  :P

I've been able to figure most things out or just simplify them for the time, but I do have a few questions.

1. The first is that I cannot find a replacement for the old Twine's <<choice>> macro. I've been combing through the forums and I just can't seem to find something that works. At it's simplest level, I'm talking about giving the player the option to put something in their pocket or eat it. I don't want them to be able to do both, or go back and do it again.

2. I can't seem to use the font I want. It's located at OpenFontLibrary, and I've tried using @open url and then font-family , as well as
@font-family:
src: url(blahblah.tiff)
My stylesheet never seems to recognize src as valid.

3. This is a bit bigger question I could use advice on. The story I'm working on is told from three perspectives, one beginning when the previous one ends. So I'm going to be moving through the same spaces, just with some different flavor text, and with different parts of the passages usable depending on character. My current plan is to set a variable for each character, and then when one ends, "turn off" the previous character and flip the next one on. Then each room will have conditionals for each character that determine the rest. Is there a good example of this, or any way I could save myself headaches?

Thank you so much for any help, I love using Twine (although I wish I could access it from different machines) and the community has been a wonderful resource so far.

Comments