Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Links reset my variables!

edited April 2015 in Help! with 2.0
Hi Everyone,

I am really new to Twine and I have been following some tutorials to start my story.  I am using Harlowe story format.

The problem I am having at the moment is that the value of the variables I set with the links, get reset some how when I go back to the previous passage, even though the previous passage does not have any macro resetting the variable values.  

Is there a way for Twine to remember when I change a variable until I change it again?

Does it work with the following syntax?

(link: "whatever")[(set: $variable to false) (goto:"previousPassage")]

If not, what how can I express it so that when someone clicks on a link, it changes the value of the variable, and then it REMEMBERS the change when the person leaves that passage or goes back to a previous one?

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.  I haven't been able to solve this myself, nor find any answers on the forum (which is not easy to use, btw).  

Thanks.

Comments

• When you say "go back to the previous passage", do you mean by clicking a link in your story, or by using the undo button on the left?
  • Sorry for not clarifying.  I mean when I click a link going back to the previous page.  Even if I do use the undo button, the same effect happens (ie. the new variable value set at the link macro is not remembered).

And this effect happens if I use a dynamic link going back to the previous page, or if I use a direct [[back to page|page]] link to the previous passage.

Is this common behaviour of the (link:) macro, and should I be using some other macro to make the change in the variable stay.
  • edited April 2015