Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

So I'm doing an Inventory...

edited February 2014 in Help! with 1.x
I'm extremely new to Twine, and I work with graphics usually, so please excuse my extreme newbness. :D

Anyway, I am using the setup found here: http://forums.adventurecow.com/index.php?topic=51.0, with an added Inventory window of my own design that looks like this:
INVENTORY
<<if $carrying['redKey']>>Red Key<<endif>>
<<if $carrying['blueKey']>>Blue Key<<endif>>
<<if $carrying['greenKey']>>Green Key<<endif>>
This is then set to display on all passages using
<<display "inventory">>
so you can always see the inventory
What I'd like to do now is three things that I can't seem to figure out.

1. Firstly, I'd like to make the inventory appear on all passages automatically, without having to put in the Display command all the time. I am wondering if perhaps there is a command I can put in the Start passage to make it auto-appear on all passages, or maybe a stylesheet thing I am unaware of?

2. Secondly, I'd like to put "your inventory is empty" in the Inventory window if I'm not carrying anything, but I can't figure out how. Basically, I need a "print this if nothing else is activated" command, but my brain can't figure it out.

3. Thirdly, right now the inventory displays empty lines if I am not carrying a specific item, which looks ugly. I'd like the line to simply be hidden instead, so the text doesn't have odd holes. I tried using the <<nobr> tags, but couldn't make it do what I wanted it to. What do?

Comments

• 3) Do this:

<<nobr>>
    <<if $carrying['redKey']>>Red Key<br><<endif>>
    <<if $carrying['blueKey']>>Blue Key<br><<endif>>
    <<if $carrying['greenKey']>>Green Key<br><<endif>>
    <<endnobr>>
  • Fab! That works! That's the last one I needed, managed to figure the others out on my own in the meantime. Many thanks. :)