Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SugarCube: How to erase previous searched locations from probability.

I'm relatively new to the programming side but do have some basic idea on html, css and Javascript. I'm currently making a bit of a RPG on SugarCube. As I mentioned, I'd like to have multiple events that could happen as part of a passage you can revisit. I was able to make the basic idea work with if/else conditionals:

Exploring...
<<set $explore = random(99)>>Debug: $explore

<<if !$foundLocationA && !$foundLocationB>>
<<if $explore < 50>> Random Event
<<elseif $explore < 80>> Location A
<<else>> Location B
<</if>>
<<elseif $foundLocationA && !$foundLocationB>>
<<if $explore < 80>> Random Event
<<else>> Location B
<</if>>
<<elseif !$foundLocationA && $foundLocationB>>
<<if $explore < 70>> Random Event
<<else>> Location A
<</if>>
<<elseif $foundLocationA && $foundLocationB>>
Random Event
<</if>>

Basically if I wanted such that there are multiple events more than Random Event, B, C here; if I found A or B I will no longer be able to find it again (I have another passage for old locations). Going to location A and B will set the foundlocationA/B to true which unlocks it for old locations. Is there some easier way to do this? (someone mentioned me used nodes not sure how) This would drive me insane if I have to repeat this for Location A-Z.

Comments

• First. You should always state the story format you're using and its version, because advice will tend to vary based on that information. Are you using SugarCube v2 or v1?

Second. Please use the code tag when posting code or markup—it's C on the editor bar.

If you're asking for a way to determine whether the player has been to a location, which doesn't require you to set a story variable, then you could use the visited family of functions to do so. Documentation:
    If you're asking about something else, you're going to need to clarify.