Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newbie here! How do you randomize choices?

Hello!

I am trying to randomize my choices in a passage. I am aware of either() but I realize that if I use either(), the correct choice would appear twice or it won't appear at all. How do you make it so that the choices won't repeat itself?

Ex. He went left! I better follow him!

(Randomized)
Wrong
Correct
Wrong

Comments

• You need to state which story format you are using, as answers can be different for each one.

When you say randomized do you mean:
    a. You want all the options to appear but in a random order.
    b. You want one or more of the incorrect options to not appear but the options that do appear are always in the same order.
    c. A combination of points A and B.
    d. Something else....
  • On first blush, it sounds to me like jwhs wants to shuffle the order of the choices so that players cannot learn the order. My question would be do they want the order of the choices themselves randomized or which choice is the correct one, or both?

And as greyelf says, knowing the story format you're using is kind of important.
  • It's more to a. greyelf but I don't want the same choice to pop up. I was using either() and it ended up like this

"Wrong"
    "Correct"
    "Correct"

What I am trying to do is make sure that the correct choice is not repeated and that the order of the choices are randomized if that make sense. And I'm not sure what you mean by story format. I'm using Twine 1.4.2 if that's what you mean.

• Story menu > Story Format. By default, it's Sugarcane.
  • Oh yeah it's sugarcane
  • Any news on that subject?
    Maybe I should start a different thread, but really the subject is the same : how to randomize choices given to a player so they can't memorize a pattern.

On the dev side the problem becomes : how to randomize Twine links in a passage?