Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Scrolling and fading effect on previous location

Re. Sugarcube 2.0

Not even sure if this is possible, so this may be a very short thread, or a very long one as I have no scripting knowledge.

The default gameplay style is for the current location to disappear and be replaced with the new one.

However, I would like the new location to appear below the previous, and for the previous to fade away slightly (so that it's still readable, but overpowered by the new location)

For example, I'm using a black background, so I would like to fade the previous location to a mid-grey colour, with current location showing in almost white.

So maybe #555 for previous location and #eee for current. Either that or use an opacity.

The reason I want to do this, is because I feel it's important (for memory sake) that aplayer can quickly glance and recap where he was before his current location. The way it just disappears feels, for me, too final - like the player's footsteps are being erased as they walk.

Hope that makes sense.

Comments

• You could possibly use a PassageHeader to display the contents of the previous passage in a different colour.

One important question, do you only want to display the contents of the previous passage or do you want display the contents of all previous passages.

If your answer is all then I would strongly suggest you think about using Twine 1's Jonah story format as it is designed to work that way.
  • edited November 2015
    Thanks, greyelf. You've certainly been busy answering questions tonight, and I really appreciate it.

At a pinch, just having the previous location would be satisfactory, but I was thinking about a continuous scroll of previous locations.