Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

condition/if statement- fail :-(

edited January 2016 in Help! with 2.0
I am trying to set up an If statement. I have two problems. The first, is that I need to use a decimal point number. This works, to a point, for some reason when the number should read .30, it ends up reading .3000000 (and some more numbers). The more problematic issue is that I need to set a condition that will allow the user to click the statement a certain number of times, until they reach .5. Once they reach the .50 number, I want the "Keep Digging" option to dissapear, so that they are only left with the one option- to "Start Troweling." Here is the code I'm using, which I copied from a tutorial. It works in the tutorial, but wondering if may be I'm missing something else, or need to add some code elsewhere in another block of text.... Let me know, I'm a newbie so be kind! :-) The red block, I was told, is a glitch in Harlow but that the story will still run. It ran ok in the tutorial. I'm using 2.0.8 but I'm not sure which version of 2 the tutorial was set for:

[img][/img]
Do you want to keep digging or do you want to begin screening soil?

(set: $depthDigging to $depthDigging + .10)
You have excavated $depthDigging feet.
(if: $depthDigging < .50) [Keep digging]
Begin Troweling

Comments

• You have an invalid space character between the (if:) macro and it's associated hook [...]
    Remove that space character and your example will work.

notes:
    a. Generally it is better not to use decimal (floats) numbers unless you really need to, because as you noticed in your example they can produce rounding errors.
    eg. add 0.1 to 0.2 in your example and the result is 0.30000000000000004

b. Generally decimal number literals between 0 and 1 (or 0 and -1) include a 0 before the decimal point. eg. 0.1 or 0.5

c. Generally trailing 0's are meaning less in decimal numbers and are not used.