Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What's Possible in Twine 1.4 - Some Basic Javascript and CSS

edited January 2014 in Workshop
Introduction:

Some of you have seen me around, but allow me to introduce myself. I'm Cora. I'm 26 years old. And before Christmas, I had never heard of Twine, I hadn't typed raw HTML since 2001, and I'd never even touched Javascript or CSS. If you're already having a case of TL;DR or you don't care to find out how I did what I did, you can simply scroll down and download the build at the bottom of the post. Otherwise, I want to show you what can be done when an amateur pushes Twine and only the most basic macros and stylesheets.

Why? I'm also a graphic artist. I don't have the literary talent of the best Twine authors, but that doesn't mean I can't contribute in my own way. I hope this inspires you, or at least lifts any imagined limitations you may have put on Twine. So with that, let's list the features I've used.

Note: Much of this code only operates in modern browsers because it uses HTML5. Chrome or Firefox are recommended.

Basic CSS:

If you use Twine a lot and think learning CSS isn't worth your time, think again. Understanding layout is the simplest and most important thing you can do to improve the look and feel of your game. That doesn't even count all the actual gameplay it can add if you're even mildly clever. Go learn it. Write your own stylesheets. Center elements. Make windows scale to the text that's inside them.

I used it to create dialog boxes and event windows in JRPG style. A macro isn't even neccesary if you want to stay simple. All this can be done with nothing but CSS and some HTML tags.

undefined

Animation: