Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help debugging this HTML please

Hey!

I'm still pretty new to Twine and teaching myself basic HTML and CSS. Wondering why this piece of code isn't working? Have tried debugging myself to no avail.

<div class="fade-in four"><i><span class="zuberitext">"Character A speech"</span></i></div>
<div class="fade-in five"><b>"Character B speech"</b></div>
<div class="fade-in six"><i><span class="zuberitext">Character A speech
<div class="fade-in seven">More of the same speech from Character A
<div class="fade-in eight">End of the same speech from Character A" </span></i></div>

<div class="fade-in nine">Do you passage? Or do you think passage?</div>

I removed the particulars of the story just to give an idea of the passage shape. The classes I have are a timed fade in for text and particular colour for Character A's speech.

Any ideas greatly appreciated, cheers!

Comments

• edited March 2017
    you need to state the name and full version number of the story format you are using, as answers can be different for each one. Also please use the code tag when posting your example - it's the C on the editor bar.

The HTML in your example is structurally invalid as it is missing a number of end tags and seems to have a div element (block) contained within a span element (inline) but I am assuming that is due to you cut-n-pasting selected parts of a greater whole.

Your have not supplied the related CSS you are using to implement the time based fade-in effect, it is difficult to help debug something without knowing what that something is.
  • Hi! I'm using Twine version 2.0.8 and Harlowe 1.1.1. Thanks, I'll use the code tag in the future. :)

I think you're right about the HTML being invalid and the issue being with the div and span elements. This is the whole of the HTML for the passage if that helps:
    <div class="fade-in one"><b>"Character b speech"</b></div>