Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Episodic game - import choices from one episode to another

edited March 2014 in Help! with 1.x
Hi guys,

Total beginner here! So bear with me.  ::)
I have in mind to make an episodic game. The game will of course have choices, but I'm also thinking to add things such as inventory, stats, and so on.

First question: How can I save/restore the "state" of the game inside one episode? Which is a simple way for the user to do this (without having him to make effort or manually save stuff...).

Second question: How can I import the choices (and eventually inventory stuff and so on) between each episode? So that, for example, choices made in Episode 1 carry in Episode 2 affecting its behavior. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks in advance to anyone who will take his time to read and answer. I really hope to get positive answer so that I can begin shaping and creating my game.  ;D

Comments

• On question 1, use Sugarcube - this has built-in save/load functionality.

For question 2, I'm not sure. Sugarcube's save-load won't work, because the web storage mechanism it uses does not allow data to be transferred between different pages. Browser security folks frown on pages sharing data directly - the accepted method is to have the pages on a proper webserver and using cookies.
  • You could use a single HTML file for all episodes and release a new version every time an episode is added.
  • You could possible do something like the following:

1. Create a passage within Episode 1 that converts the users data into a JSON string, and then displays this string on screen.

2. Create a passage within Episode 2 that contains an input field that accepts a JSON string, and then convert the string into users data.

3. Get the user to copy and paste the JSON string from Episode 1 onto Episode 2.
  • greyelf wrote:

You could possible do something like the following: