Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Including audio?

Hi, I'm making my first twine game and I seem to have picked up the basics just fine. My entire game works, technically. But I was really hoping to add ambient music in the background. I've researched it, but everything I've read indicates that no one can really agree on the best way to do it.

At one point I successfully embedded an invisible soundcloud player into the StartMenu, but unfortunately it would restart the music every time the play clicked a link. If someone has a fix for that then awesome.

But others have talked about using not only bgm, but sound effects you could cue using macros. But for the life of me I can't get any of these to work.

I'm pretty new to coding, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Hey, I'd be glad to help. The thing is, if you don't specify what Story Header your using, it's really hard to answer a lot of questions. You sound really new, so the best advice I can give you is to use SugarCube!

Seriously, I'd hate to see you work on a really great story and then realize that things you want to do can only be done on SugarCube, and switching would be very difficult. If your not, you can get it here http://www.motoslave.net/sugarcube/.

And because L's existing HTML 5 Audio Macro  isn't exactly compatible with SugarCube, I'll give you this code to post in a Script passage -
    (function () {
    "use strict";
    version.extensions['soundMacros'] = {
    major: 1,
    minor: 1,
    revision: 2
    };
    var p = macros['playsound'] = {
    soundtracks: {},
    handler: function (a, b, c, d) {
    var loop = function (m) {
    if (m.loop == undefined) {
    m.loopfn = function () {
    this.play();
    };
    m.addEventListener('ended', m.loopfn, 0);
    } else m.loop = true;
    m.play();
    };
    var s = eval(d.fullArgs());
    if (s) {
    s = s.toString();