Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I have no idea what I'm doing. (help please)

Okay, I've been fiddling around with twine. Looking at the wiki and testing things out. I've used it for maybe a few hours and I'm no coder. This is very simple stuff and its still is frustrating me.

A few questions. (I've used mostly sugarcube. It's 1.4.2 newest verison, that I've downloaded.)

1. I tried to use <<typeinput $name>> something similar to the example in the wiki. In an attempt for when I do <<$name>> or <<print $name>> <<display $name>> I've tried adding remember, is, to, everything...to no avail. I just wanted to make it display the name in the dialogue that I typed out. It always just shows me a 0 or an error message. How exactly is this done and can it be done?

2. Is there anyway to have someone return to start, using <<previous>>? Like you died <<Try again|previous>> but all that would do is take you to the previous page.

3. Displaying actions on one page. I've figured out how to use choice/actions and their differences. But I have no clue how to have the actions/choices displayed all on one screen. Similar to the pot example on the wiki page.  Is this only possible in Jonah?

4. I've noticed a lot of the help on youtube and the wiki site is not updated. I didn't know at the time. I set up a scenario were you had to use press two buttons before something would activate, <<set $redbutton eq "on">> something like that and it worked. I noticed that eq was not supposed to be used anymore. So I changed all the coding with is instead. Suddenly the code didn't work. Confused, I just put it back to eq. It didn't work when it was working before. I've yet to fix it...I tried closing and reopening it but it still didn't work. So did I screw the whole thing up/why would this be happening?