Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

"Re-entering" story? (resolved)

edited February 2015 in Help! with 1.x
Hi all! I'm new to Twine, forgive me if there's an answer to this somewhere (although I did take a look at the wiki and old google group to no avail). Essentially, the goal is to have the player reach a certain point in the story when they're given a link to a game to play (which is simple enough achieve with a hyperlink in Twine). Once the game is complete, the game can use whatever link I give it to "re-enter" the Twine story. I'm not sure if what I'm attempting is outside the scope of Twine, since I'd need a link to a passage that is not accessible any other way. There's no way to get the link since there's no "natural" way to play to the isolated passage (step 3 in the pic). Here's a pic to try and illustrate what I'm attempting:

undefined

The only other side note would be that the game I'm linking to is an html5 game. I haven't seen anything that would imply Twine could support it (hence the linking) but let me know if I missed something. Is there a way to make a system like this work? Thanks for reading! :)

Comments

• Hello lazybraingames,

As far as I know, the easiest way to achieve this is with the StorySettings passage. This is a special passage which sits in your Twine game and lets you control certain aspects of your game.

To create one in your game, go to Story -> Special Passages -> StorySettings. This will create the Storysettings passage and when opened will show you a list of checkboxes.

To do what you require, you will need the following two settings checked:

- Let the player undo moves
    - Automatic URL hash updates