Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Formats and Versions

I'm a Sci-Fi/Horror/Fantasy writer with an interest in using Twine to provide another way for my stories to be enjoyed.  I've done some research; compared it to Inform, looked at examples, read the wiki, etc but I'm still confused by two things.  One, what are the specific differences in the 3 story formats?  Is one just as capable as the other, with mainly cosmetic differences to distinguish them apart?  There is some information available, but it's either not specific enough or it's simply outdated (referring to 2 formats available instead of 3, for example).  And second, are there major differences between the online browser version and the stand alone version worth considering?  The numbering system is different, of course, but does that mean that it is an "older" version, with less features and support?  I prefer not to tie my story creation software into my browser, for numerous reasons, but if that's my only choice...

If responding, links are fine.  My E-mail address should be available as well for those who wish to respond at greater length.
Thanks again for considering my question, and if I've overlooked something obvious, please forgive me. 

Comments

• There are two related parts:

1. The Twine application, which is used to edit your story project's passages (text, javascript and CSS stylesheet).
    Twine 1.x is written in Python, it is the more mature product but it does require you to install it locally and only works on OS's that support python 2.7.
    Twine 2.x is written in HTML5 / Javascript, it is the less mature product but it can be ran in (most) modern browsers and works on tablets.

2. The Story Format, which is used by the application to create your story HTML file.