Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sugarcube - Sidebars and Save files

edited April 2015 in Help! with 2.0
Hi there! I'm pretty new to Twine and slowly figuring everything out, but I think it's coming along nicely. I do have two pretty big questions, though.

First:

Is there a way I can add (an) additional "side"bar(s) to Sugarcube and easily control what is in them on each page? For instance, to put dialogue options or action buttons at the bottom of the page in such a way that the passage text above them will scroll if too long but the bottom box is always visible? Or to have a right-aligned sidebar for enemy stats or the like while I have player stats in the default bar on the left? Could I, perhaps, even control whether or not these boxes appear on a given page?

Second:

How can I make the save game info display the Player's name in addition to the default information? And how do I change the gray (save slot empty) text? I've tried every combination of id and class elements that I can find associated with it but I'm sure I'm missing something. 8'|

-

Less a how-to and more a general curiosity question: if I have a save file and then add things to the StoryInit passage, will the new things load up on my old save, or does StoryInit activate at the beginning of the game only?

Comments

• edited April 2015
    EDIT: Sorry for the random yellow highlighting and code messups. The forum is totally mangling the code and it refuses to display things in the sugarcube << >> format. But hopefully this gives you an indication of what you can do. Come back and check this passage after code markup gets fixed.

StoryInit activates at start of the game. But you need to start the game to load the save in the first place, so you will be always activating StoryInit first.