Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Different colored links?

Hi folks! I'm new to Twine and absolutely thrilled to have found such a great tool. It really seems ideal for the kind of games I want to make.

I recently played Castle, Forest, Island, Sea, and I liked the way they used different colors for different 'types' of links. I'm not planning to do the 'adding/changing text in place' trick (although I'd love to know how it's done), but I'd like players to be able to see which links provide more information, as opposed to the links which move you forward in the game.

My question is: How do I set things up so that I can flag links as being of a given type, and then color them accordingly?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Comments

• Great question. Most of the color and formatting 'tricks' in Twine are done with CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) which is an extremely simple language webpages reference for basic information like font size and color. The author of the story you linked is using CSS in combination with the custom script macro found here.

Links in Twine are colored via CSS. So if we have a tag with an class of green, like this:
    <span class="green'>[[This link is green!]]</span>
    We need a stylesheet line like this to make it so:
    a.green { color:#31B404; }
    What this all boils down to is that Twine, like a great strategy game, is easy to get into but has a very high skill ceiling. People here are more than happy to help you with this kind of stuff, but if you enjoy it I highly recommend learning some basic HTML and CSS!
  • CoraBlue wrote:

Links in Twine are colored via CSS. So if we have a tag with an class of green, like this:
    <div class="green'>[[This link is green!]]</div>