Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Extreme beginner tips and hints

edited March 2014 in Chit-Chat
I draw for a living, so this whole coding-thing is extremely new for me. For that reason, I've started compiling a concise list of handy commands I use a lot in Twine and which were far from immediately apparent to me when I started. For the sake of other noobtards like me, I'll be sharing those extreme beginner tips here, and urge you others to do the same if you have anything you want to add (corrections, improvements and optimizations for my own stuff is extremely welcome as well). I'll be adding to the list as I discover new things and trying to keep it up to date if people add something awesome.

To add to a Variable: <<set $variable +=20>>

To subtract from a Variable: <<set $variable -=20>>

Putting several Variables in one String: <<if $variable gte 1 or $variable lte 7>>

Checking if a Passage has been visited previously: <<if visited ("passage title")>>

Make the User type in a Variable name: <<set $variable to prompt("query","default input")>> example: <<set $name to prompt("What's your name?","Alyssa P. Hacker")>>

Change a Variable through a Link: [[link name|passage title][$variable = expression]] example: [[Return|3_cliffsStart][$mana +=1]]
Change several Variables through a Link: [[link name|passage title][$variable = expression]] example: [[Return|3_cliffsStart][$mana +=1;$ammo +=1]]

Print global turncount: <<turns()>>

Generate a random number: <<set $variable = (Math.floor(Math.random()*range))+1>> example: <<set $diceRollOne = (Math.floor(Math.random()*5))+1>>

Comments

• [quote]
    Print global turncount: <<turns()>>

You'd do that a bit differently in SugarCube:

"Turns" (including the Start passage): <<print state.length>>
    "Turns" (excluding the Start passage): <<print state.length - 1>>

[quote]