Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

TWINE ePub

Hello. I've just learned of TWINE for the very first time, and I was asked by the Twine Threads Twitter account to ask my question about TWINE here.

I'm an author of short fiction, and I was thinking of giving TWINE a try as I would love to do something interactive. I am curious as to whether this is purely web-based? Would it be possible to create a TWINE story in ePub format?

Kindest regards!

Comments

• Hello Mr/Mrs Android,
    I'm just starting to learn TWINE as well.
    I must admit, if it is possible to make an ePub TWINE story, the possibility's are very interesting.
    Hopefully someone knows :)
    Stew
  • The ePub 3 specification states it supports scripting (java-script) but

a. ePub 3 is not supported by all eReader devices or software.
    b. If the device or software does support ePub 3 if may not support java-script
    c. If  the device or software does support java-script it may not support all of it.
  • Would you need a lot of interactivity? If just hyperlinks is enough, one could write a converter to output static XHTML and package that in an EPUB file. In that case, Twine would be used only as an authoring tool, not as a runtime.
  • I'm very interested in this topic. Inklewriter is another platform like Twine (e.g. for writing CYOA games/stories), the owners of which will convert your Inklewriter story to an ebook for $10. Inklewriter games have the ability to contain logic (if/else, variables, counters...), and there's no mention of the ebooks being limited in any way, so I assume the ebooks would also contain logic. The company is not shady whatsoever, so I have no doubt this is the case. Jon Ingold (interactive fiction author) is one of the creators of the platform. Neat stuff.