Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

textinput for 1.4.1 with variable set on press "enter"

Hey everyone! ^_^

If I wanted the player to be able to textinput, press enter, and then have whatever they typed become the value for a variable, what would I do? I've seen the versions that store a name, and I've seen the one with the button which takes you to a certain passage, but I'm not sure if they're exactly what I need.

Rather, I would like for the text entered to become a value I could then use in an if/elseif situation which displayed different text or images.

For example, (partially in words, haha, because I'm new at code)

Where would you like to go?: forest

If $whatevertheplayertyped = forest display xyz
Else if whatevertheplayertyped = castle display abc

Thank you!

Comments

• Ash wrote:

Hey everyone! ^_^

If I wanted the player to be able to textinput, press enter, and then have whatever they typed become the value for a variable, what would I do? I've seen the versions that store a name, and I've seen the one with the button which takes you to a certain passage, but I'm not sure if they're exactly what I need.

Rather, I would like for the text entered to become a value I could then use in an if/elseif situation which displayed different text or images.

For example, (partially in words, haha, because I'm new at code)

Where would you like to go?: forest

If $whatevertheplayertyped = forest display xyz
    Else if whatevertheplayertyped = castle display abc

Thank you!

Well, I've had this problem for a while but a quick Google search got me with this.

<<textinput $variable passage to visit on button click button name>>

For me, I made it so that players can name their own character by putting down the following...

<<textinput $name PASSAGETITLE Enter>>

So whenever I type <<print $name>>, their chosen name shows up! But for Sugarcube, apparently it's a bit different.