Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I use twine?

Hello.

I want to make a interactive story. I found twine just yesterday and started fiddling with Twine 2.
I'm having a real bad time with it. The wiki always talks about Twine 1 and I can't find how to translate things from v1 to v2.
I'm not a coder. I'm a writer and want to get to writing. The problem is that I'm taking my time to understand variables and stuff but when I apply those... twine 2 says it handles it differently -- never saying HOW.

Should I use twine? Is there any other option? I really want to study the shit out of this software and really make nice things out of it, but I just can't understand what the buttons do. There ins't even a red button with "DON'T TOUCH" words. It's all wordless.

I read online that Twine is the better way to start doing gamey stuff. I just want to understand it's language.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Twine 2 is currently really badly documented, the only real documentation of the language is here and even that is incomplete. Twine 2 is still very new. I personally recommend you to use Twine 1 for now, it works and has more features than 2.x.
  • tlm wrote:

Twine 2 is currently really badly documented, the only real documentation of the language is here and even that is incomplete.

Strictly speaking, that's documentation for Harlowe, one of the built-in story formats for Twine 2 (the default).  AFAIK, Twine 2 itself doesn't really have documentation.

The other built-in story format, Snowman, is also pretty different (though, it's also pretty simple).  Not sure about its documentation, though the Snowman for Twine 1 thread would probably suffice.

@OP: It sounds like you'd be happier at the moment with either Twine 1 or SugarCube for Twine 2, which is mostly similar to the Twine 1 vanilla formats (which is what the wiki is about) and fairly well documented itself.