Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dropbox integration for Twine 2.0?

I'm not a great programmer and don't really know what would be involved but..

What's the possibility of Dropbox integration for Twine 2.0?

I think it would be nice so that the story I'm working on with my notebook can easily be transferred and worked on my desktop.. or iPad! Also, it might make sharing Twine stories and games that much easier.

Has this been brought up before?

Comments

• Already exists. You can use the "publish to file" option to create a html file, then upload the html file and any art/sound assets in a zipped folder to Dropbox and then download it, import it into Twine 2.0 main screen using the import from file option you see there on the right, and just work on it locally.

Then when you're finished, click "publish to file" again to compile it to html, re-upload it to Dropbox, and then import it again from a different PC.
  • True, but not fully what I mean. I'm talking "integration".

For example, a tab or folder on the home screen that accesses/syncs with my Dropbox account. That would be very convenient.

Though it's a native mobile app, there's a budgeting app called "You Need A Budget" that syncs its information across computers and mobile devices using Dropbox and I thought that would be perfect for Twine 2.0.

I know it's a bit lazy but, all of these exporting, saving, transferring, and importing clicks could be automated! :D
  • The biggest barrier to integrating Twine 2.0 with the Dropbox API is that it requires apps that talk to it to be registered with them on Dropbox's side: https://www.dropbox.com/developers/datastore/sdks/js

There's no way to make all installs of Twine 2.0 use the same API key because it would differ by domain, local copies wouldn't work at all, and so on. You'd have to register it separately on every server it was placed on.
  • Two other issues: