Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Harlowe: Variable Access to Data Structures

Hello Twine forums!

I'm currently trying to include in a story a passage of text that gets progressively and randomly more scrambled as time goes on. Effectively, I'm trying to randomly swap letters with each iteration. This sort of string manipulation would be trivial using Javascript (or whatever), and feels like it should be relatively easy to implement in Twine. Ordinarily, I'd just resort to Javascript (or whatever), but I'm a university professor teaching English majors how to use Twine for their final projects, and for purposes of pedagogy, I'm trying to figure out how I can implement it in Harlowe/TwineScript.

Enough preamble. Here's my dilemma: for the life of me, I can't figure out how to get reliable variable access to elements either in an array or a datamap.

Array-wise, I can pull two random characters from the string, by using calls of the sort (set: $char to $string[$index]) [although this only sometimes works and I haven't yet been able to figure out what does and does not break it. That's not my question here.] I cannot, however, then change the array in the reverse manner: (set: $string[$index] to $char) breaks, throwing "I can't give undefined a new value." I understand that arrays in Harlowe are explicitly not indexed in this manner (0-indexed bracket notation), but instead use the possessive form: (print: $array's 4th). I haven't been able to figure out how to hack a way to use the possessive syntax with a variable: e.g. (print: $array's $var) does not work. If you have suggestions to this end, I'd love to hear them, although what I've been able to Google, it sounds like this particular avenue is probably a dead end.