Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dark Deeds (My first Twine)

edited May 2015 in Workshop
This is my first attempt at making an interactive story, it's a mystery set around the end of the middle ages. Hope you all enjoy it and feedback is welcome, like I said this is my first time doing this so it's pretty basic.

http://www.philome.la/sarge370/dark-deeds

Comments

• Played the game. Enjoyed it thoroughly! Thanks! I solved the mystery and it was a very rewarding experience.

Perhaps one thing that could make it more challenging is putting some kind of time limit, so that not all the suspects can be interviewed or not all the rooms searched. I don't know... it may require changing it a bit.

Otherwise, I really did enjoy just as it is. Good work!! And I hope you will make more Twines.
  • Thanks! There's a lot more I want to try, there were several things I wanted to do differently but due to my lack of experience with twine, I had to improvise. A time limit would be a really cool addition that I will try to implement it into my next story =)
  • edited May 2015
    just a quick note... as I am heading out the door...

with "time limit" I don't necessarily mean real "time" as such. Perhaps it can relate to the number of people interviewed or rooms entered.

Just a quick example off the top of my head...

If, in each passage where an interview starts or where you enter a room, you were to put:
    (set:$hour to it +1)

Then you can use an (if:) statement to limit what is shown.

So each link to and interview and each link to enter a room could start with:
    (if: $hour < 10)[link to interview01]
    (if: $hour < 10)[link to interview02]
    (if: $hour < 10)[link to interview03]
    (elseif: $hour > 9)[link to the final accusation passage]

I hope that makes sense. Like I said it is just off the top of my head without much thought.