Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is there a way to make text appear as RPG games?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Twine.

I wonder if there is a way to print text like old school RPG games letter by letter?

Thank you :)

Comments

• Hello Dorgam
    Yes. There is.

What format are you using?
  • edited June 2015
    There are several ways to do it, though the most robust way is probably the specific GreenSock plugin designed for this, which works best in SugarCube for Twine 1.4.2 (to my knowledge the only story format that can reliably use GreenSock animation due to its user library feature).

https://greensock.com/TextPlugin

Other story formats do have their little Javascript macros you can write into your story to achieve the effect but GreenSock gives many more options.

To do this you create a userlibrary.js file in the SugarCube targets directory that contains the GreenSock source javascript library, then put the text you want typed out inside a <<script>> <</script>> macro containing the inline GreenSock code.

For something a little less robust but much simpler to use, you can use Leon's typewriter Javascript for SugarCane/SugarCube: https://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5161
  • There's also Typed.js (a jQuery plugin), which can simply be pasted into the Story JavaScript (so should work for all Twine 2 story formats).

Claretta wrote: »
    To do this you create a userlibrary.js file […]
    Small, but important, correction. The user library file is actually named userlib.js.
  • There's also Typed.js (a jQuery plugin), which can simply be pasted into the Story JavaScript (so should work for all Twine 2 story formats).
    @TheMadExile, would you be so kind as to attach for us an example HTML file with this and the flashing cursor using SugarCube and, if different, Harlowe? I'd appreciate it. :-)