Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

links that disappear once the passage is visited?

edited September 2015 in Help! with 2.0
hi! I'm new to this, so apologies if this is a simple question. I've been looking around for an answer for a while but I haven't found anything that I can make work.

I'm using Twine 2 with Harlowe.

So I have my character going on a trip, and he has several things he needs to do before he can do this. There's a passage where he's planning the trip, with links to other passages for each thing he needs to check off of his "to do list", so to speak.

Currently I have it formatted like this:
[[Return the reporter's call.]]
(if: $x is 2)[(print: "[[Pack.]]")]
(if: $y is 2)[(print: "[[Check the newspaper for anything.]]")]
(if: $z is 2)[(print: "[[Sleep.]]")]

Then each passage sets the variable so that after visiting the first link and going back, the second link will appear, and then the third, etc, until you have the option to sleep and progress to the next day.

This is okay, but what I would really prefer is that each time you go back, the previous link has disappeared and your only option is the new link. I've seen things about tagging and variables but I can't get it to work with links.

Thank you, I hope this makes sense! I'm happy to clarify if anything is unclear.

Comments

• You could use a single variable to track how prepared the character is and then show once of the links based on that variable.

note: Harlowe supports using a startup tagged passage to initialize (give default values to) your story's variables. If you don't have one yet then create a new passage, name whatever you like but I name mine Startup, and assign it a tag of startup.

1. Place the following in your startup tagged passage:
    (set: $prepared to 1)

2. Place the following in both of your Pack. and Check the newspaper for anything. passages:
    (set: $prepared to it + 1)