Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Male or Female Back-and-Forth

Hello all, I'm brand new to Twine and would like to start the story off with the ability to choose whether you want to be a male or a female. The problem with this is that I don't know if you can have a passage somehow "learn" your choice and go back and forth between "he" and "she" respectively. Is this possible or do I have to write two seperate passages completely to fit either choice?

Comments

• You need to state which story format you are using, as answers can be different for each one. I am going to assume you are using Harlowe!

You can use a $variable to track which gender the character is and display different text based on the value of that $variable.

Your story should have a passage in which you initialize (give default values to) your $variables, in Harlowe this passage is the one you have tagged as startup. If you don't have such a passage yet then do the following:
    a. Create a new passage, its name is not important but I call mine Startup.
    b. Assign a startup tag to this new passage.

In your startup tagged passage place the following code:
    (note: the following starts the character off as male, if you want them to start off as female just change the "male" part of the code to "female")
    (set: $gender to "male")

You now have a variable named $gender which can be used to decide what text to display. You could use code like the following in any of your story's passage to do so:
    (if: $gender is "male")[
    The text you want to show the male.
    ]
    (else:)[
    The text you want to show the female.
    ]

When you want to change the character from male to female you would use the following code within one of your passages and they would be female from that passage onwards:
    (set: $gender to "female")

• Hi!

Greyelf's answer is absolutely correct, of course.