Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help with (set: $list) and (if: $list contains)

Hi!
So I am brand new at this - literally started today - and I am trying to get the lists to work. I noticed that if in one passage, I set the list to contain f.ex. a dagger, and then in the next passage, I set the list to contain f.ex. a sword - then the list starts over and the dagger disappears. This makes sort of sense to me, but I don't know how I get the list to contain both items - so that the dagger stays in the list, even though I add a sword.
I am using the command: (set: $list to "dagger") in the first passage, and the same one in the next passage, just replaced "dagger" with "sword". It does seem fairly obvious that this would restart the list.
I figured I could either put both item in the list in the next passage - this solution seems very impractical and very confusing as soon as the story gets more complex. However, I don't even know how to put multiple items in one (set: $list to)-command.
Or maybe there is some command that makes the previous items in the list stay there, even when new ones are added?
I am using Harlowe 1.1.1

And in advance; thank you soooo much for your help! I really do appreciate it!

Comments

• These are variables:
    $list
    $array
    $foo
    $bar
    $baz
    $helloWorld
    $variable
    $asdf

And so forth. What you name the variable has no effect on how you use it.

What you're calling a "list" is called a "dataset" or "datamap" in Harlowe.

Datasets look like this:
    (set: $weapons to (dataset: "sword", "axe", "dagger"))

Dataset and datamap are both covered very briefly at the bottom of the Harlowe markup syntax page here: http://twine2.neocities.org/

Working with arrays is complex and there is a learning curve. I don't have time to go into it for Harlowe, but it will require some time research.