Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Two-parter: clicking text changes that text and displays image according to it.

Hello everyone, I am very new in Twineland, sorry for my tötal nōōbity.

I am using Twine 1 with SugarCube 2. I want to make a situation where, when the reader clicks on certain words in the text, it cycles through a number of options that it displays before returning to the initial word. Under the text, it loads a different image each time the word is clicked.

Example:

Jim is eating an apple.
Image displayed: Jim eating an apple.

When the user clicks the word 'apple', it changes to banana, then pear, then peach, then apple again. Each click causes a new image to be displayed with Jim eating that type of fruit.

I would very much appreciate any help with this. I have tried doing things with <<click>> and <<if>> statements, but I can't seem to get it right.

Cheers!

Comments

• edited January 2016
    Normally if you want a link that cycles through a list of options when clicked you would use TheMadExile's implementation of the Cyclinglink Macro, a lin to which can be found near the bottom the SugarCube 2 website. Unfortunately you also want an image to change each time the cycling link is clicked and as far as I know that macro does not support change events.

The following is one way to implement what you want using just built-in macros, it uses two instances of the <<replace>> macro to update two predefined areas of a passage whenever a link is clicked.

1. Main passage, the passage you want the link and image to appear in:
    <<set $list to ['apple', 'banana', 'pear', 'peach']>>
    <<set $fruit to "">>

Jim is eating an <span id="fruit-word"><<display "Cycle Fruit">></span>

<span id="fruit-image"><<print "[img[" + $fruit + ".jpg]]">></span>