Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Problems with (set:) and (live:) and (transition:)

Hey,

I'm using Harlowe and I want to use the transition macro to make a text constantly pulse. Now as I read the transition-time command doesn't work at all, so I made it work like this:

(set: $wub to "Wub wub wub wub wub wub wub wub wub wub")

(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[$wub]]

I'm pretty new to coding and I can't find a way to save all those attributes to $wub. There's always an error, a string can't be saved with a value, blabla.

So is there any way to have this (live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[$wub]] or maybe this (live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Wub wub wub]] somehow saved together as one thing?

The only thing I have managed was this:

|wub>[(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Wub wub wub]]]
|bam>[(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Bam bam bam]]]
|uz>[(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Uz uz uz]]]

(live: 3s)[
(replace: ?uz)[(either: ?wub, ?bam, ?uz)]]

I've played around with (either:) but it usually just ignores the (live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")] completely.

And then there is the problem that even if it did work I still had those lines on top because of the named hooks.

I just want [(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse") assigned to a text, and this as three different $whatever, and then swap them every 3 seconds while they keep pulsing like annoying music.

I also tried doing it by hand and without setting up anything, but it seems the different live macros are interfering with each other and also it's quite confusing. I wish it was possible the way I want it with nicely assigned variables I can just shuffle.

What I want is basically this:

(set: $wub to (live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Wub wub wub])

{(live:3s)[
(either: $wub, $uz, $Bam)
]}

Despite the fact I can't manage to put this [(live: 0.6s)[(transition: "pulse")[Wub wub]] line in one $whatever.

Please help.

Comments