Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Picking a story format/coding

Hey folks,
I am new to twine and I can't decide which story format would be best for the project I'm planning.

I have a tiny (very tiny!) amount of knowledge about HTML and CSS coding and looking through the twine wiki actually confused me more than it helped (I'm not an English native...) so maybe one of you can suggest a good format for a coding beginner based on what I need?

I need a format...

... that allows the character to pick up and carry things around for a while
... events happening based on choices and things the character picked up. For me, this is the most important part!
For example if my character goes left and carries a cat with him, a wild dog will appear and attack. If the character goes left and has no cat but a cookie the dog will be friendly and follow him around. If the character goes left and has neither cat nor cookie nothing will happen. Or if the character hasn't met the dog he won't be able to enter a certain place and so on.
If there is a name for the kind of coding that needs to be done here I'd like to know it so I know what kind of tutorials I must look for

If my main focus is too complex I'd like to know how and what I should learn. I plan to use twine for my thesis next year and have a few month to learn all that's needed but I don't know where to start.

Comments

• All the things in your list can be done using a combination of $variables and IF / ELSE-IF / ELSE macros. Both the SugarCube and Harlowe story formats have the features needed to do what you want.

This comment in the How Do I Make An Inventory mentions the Screencasts by Dan Cox and Anna Anthropy's introduction both of which are available via links found on the main page of the Twine Wiki.