Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Using (if:) and (history:) to change text in Harlow? [SOLVED]

edited August 2016 in Help! with 2.0
Hello! I'm fairly new to Twine, but I've been reading a lot of questions on here and using the Harlow 1.2.2 manual on twine2.neocities.org, but I still can't figure something out.
I'm using (if:) and (history:) to change the text print out depending on whether or not the player has been there before. If they visit the passage a second time, I want to remove the original text and replace it with something new.
Currently, my code looks like this:

(set: $list to (history:))

(if: $list contains "Enter Crowded Cafe")[You carefully approach the two spirits talking. You make a weak attempt at a smile and stand until they notice you.
"Um..." you fumble with your words, "Are you Rowan?"
The first spirit turns to you. She looks like she's tired. "No, I'm not."
"Oh. Thanks." Well, you havent found them yet.
Ask her friend?->Spirit Friend Ask
You walk away from the spirits.->Crowded Cafe]

(if: $list contains "Rowan Spirit?")[Your remember your first meeting... *You carefully approach the two spirits talking. You make a weak attempt at a smile and stand until they notice you.
"Um..." you fumble with your words, "Are you Rowan?"
The first spirit turns to you. She looks like she's tired. "No, I'm not."
"Oh. Thanks."*

You're not sure why you're back. The first spirit turns to you, "You again? I already told you, I'm not Rowan."
You frown as her friend says, "Me either."

You walk away from the spirits.->Crowded Cafe]

The passage previous to this is "Enter Crowded Cafe", it allows you to reach "Rowan Spirit?". This passage is "Rowan Spirit?". If you click "Crowded Cafe", it gives you a menu that allows you to return to the passage "Rowan Spirit?".

The names aren't all that important, just the fact that you are revisiting the same passage.