Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do i Make text fade

Please help as you can tell by the title i want to Make text fade away.

I use harlowe 1.2.2

Please explain fully im a bit of a noob

Comments

• You can use CSS animation to do what you want. The CSS should be placed within your story's Story Stylesheet area.

This solution is made up of two parts:

1. The keyframes CSS used to implement the fade-out effect:
    @-webkit-keyframes fade-out {
    	0% {opacity: 1;}
    	100% {opacity: 0;} 
    } 

@keyframes fade-out {
    } 

... it works by changing the opacity of whatever it is applied to from visible (1) to invisible (0).

2. The animation CSS settings that will be applied to whatever you want to fade-out.

The second part of the solution is made up of two sub-parts:

2a. The passage markup used to indicate which text to apply the fade-out effect to.

This is done by using a named hook to mark the relevant text, the name of the hook will be fade-out
    |fade-out>[This text should fade out over 10 seconds]

2b. The CSS that targets the fade-out named hook.

This CSS configures that animation what will be applied to the named hook, it uses the fade-out keyframes defined in part 1, and uses a delay of 10 seconds.
    tw-hook[name="fade-out"] {
    	-webkit-animation-name: fade-out;
    	-webkit-animation-duration: 10s;
    	-webkit-animation-fill-mode: both;
    	animation-name: fade-out;
    	animation-duration: 10s;
    	animation-fill-mode: both;
    }

If you add all of the above CSS and passage markup to a new story and then view it using the Play option then you will see the marked text slowly fade away over 10 seconds.
  • greyelf wrote: »
    You can use CSS animation to do what you want. The CSS should be placed within your story's Story Stylesheet area.

This solution is made up of two parts:

1. The keyframes CSS used to implement the fade-out effect:
    }