Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HOW do you create and use custom macros? (+ ranting)

Hi... anyone...?

I am using Twine 2 (linux) with SugarCube 2 (yes, installed).

I'm not very experienced with
- Twine (discovered a month or less)
- nor forum posting*
- nor coding (well I AM an IT student but 1. I'll say I have experience after at least 5 years)
(- nor proper english writing, vive la France.)

[Ranting part - ok to skip]

* I feel like it's the first time I NEED to post, usually I easily find what I'm looking in answers to other people's questions like many others do I guess. But the past 4 days or so I've been trying to learn how to Twine and it feels... hard, frustrating, confusing (i.e. http://twinery.org/forum/discussion/2853/what-do-i-consider-when-choosing-1-x-or-2-x or https://www.reddit.com/r/twinegames/comments/2rgikc/is_there_any_comprehensive_guide_yet_for_twine_2/)...

I've been wondering if I am the only person that feels this way : when you search for something Twine-related most of the time you end up either with something "outdated", or not the format/version you're explicitly asking for (in my case SugarCube 2 for Twine 2) so also useless, or just the same generic results no matter what you type in the bar :

- Twine wiki, which I don't like (confusing, not extensive nor concise)
- Harlowe's reference, which I like (and had me use Harlowe but then I went to SugarCube but... I can't remember why)
- Adam Hammond'guides (I prefer reading pdf) - neat and concise and clear but very "short", I wish they'd go "deeper"
- the "Motoslave site", which I quite like - neat, clear, concise, quite extensive (maybe one of the reasons why I switched to SugarCube)

Sometimes I feel like I should just give up but I've seen people MAKING GREAT THINGS with Twine so it's possible.