Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Equivalent of the programming return; ?

Brand new to Twine, I'm starting to experiment a little bit with branching narration and the likes.
Being a programmer, I find the logic of Twine / Harlowe both very useful and very frustrating.

My issue is the following:
I have a bunch of (if:)/(else:), and I'm sure you all know these things can start to be a relative spaghetti-mess of code and lines if you need a numerous very specific cases in 1 single passage.
On top of that, I suddenly have a new condition, that if fullfilled, would simply skip over all the others.
The obvious way of doing that, which the little knowledge of Twine / Harlowe I have, would be to add that if/else encompassing all the others. That's okay, but what if I need to add encompass only a part of the others? What if my condition gets more complicated, and have to deal with some of the other if: before being processed (and then completely skip whatever is remaining to do).

As I said, I'm a programmer, so if I would have to do that while coding, I would usually put my new if at the very top (or at the relevant place), and then put a return; to end the function here and skip all the rest.

Is there an equivalent for that programming return; in Twine?
If not, why?

Comments

• The simple answer is No, because where would it return to?

Your analogy is based on a one line of code calling a method, said method checks a condition and instantly returns to caller, which results in the next line of code being executed.

If transposing that analogy to traversing from one passage to another then where would the logical place to return to be:

a. The start of the previous passage?
    This would result in the contents of that passage being processed and executed again.

b. The line directly after the one containing the link that caused the traversal?