Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Making a "Don't Move" segment in Harlowe

Basically, I want to make a segment in my game where the player has to hide from a monster. They go to their hiding place, and the monster comes up to it, suspicious. The game says "Something inside you says 'DON'T MOVE.'" When you click the link, the screen is blank. If the player moves the mouse during this, they get caught by the monster. If the player doesn't move the mouse for about 10 seconds, the monster goes away. How could I achieve this in a game? I've never worked with mouse-based commands before, so I'd appreciate if you explained the commands a bit. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• warning: I have limited knowledge of Javascript so the following solution may either contain misunderstanding or not be fully compatible with all web-browser brands/versions, you may want to get a more experienced Javascript coder to either look at this solution or suggest a better one.

There are three issues you need to overcome to do what you want, they are:

1. Harlowe does not have a macro that monitors mouse movement, so you will need to use Javascript to over come this.

2. The (live:) macro has no documented way to externally stop it before it's associated timer fires, which you need to do in the 'player moved mouse' (failed) use-case. You will need to use Javascript to implement the delay so it can be stopped in the failed use-case.

3. Harlowe has no documented Javascript API which means there is documented way to update the content of the page, which you need to do in both the success and failed use-cases. You can use Javascript to inject text into the current page but any Harlowe markup or macros in that text will not be executed.

You can get around this by using CSS to hide both the success and failure outputs and then use Javascript to make the relevant output visible later.